September 5, 2010

Anne of Green Gables

by Lucy Maud Montgomery

The Anne of Green Gables series is one of the most popular series. as a young girl I never realized the series took place in Canada I pictured it taking place, just the next town over. Why were orphans put on trains? They were given a chance away from the cities where they might have ended up on the street.

Anne of Green Gables
Anne, an eleven-year-old orphan, is sent by mistake to live with a lonely, middle-aged brother and sister on a Prince Edward Island farm and proceeds to make an indelible impression on everyone around her. This beloved novel about an 11-year-old orphan finding her place in the world has been adapted for a new generation. Readers will delight in Anne's adventures as they join this spirited and timeless heroine.

Anne of Avonlea
This wonderful book continues the story of young Anne Shirley, popular heroine and mischievous orphan, as she sets out on her teaching career in the town of Avonlea. First published in 1909, this is a beloved classic that continues to appeal to the dreams and aspirations of young people everywhere.

Anne of the Island
Third in the Anne of Green Gables series, it continues the story of Anne Shirley through four years of college. On her way toward graduation, Anne forges new relationships at school, while strengthening old friendships at home in Avonlea. Anne is now a 16-year-old teaching in the town of Avonlea.

Anne of Windy Poplars
Anne Shirley has left Redmond College behind to begin a new job and a new chapter of her life away from Green Gables. Now she faces a new challenge: the Pringles. They're known as the royal family of Summerside - and they quickly let Anne know she is not the person they had wanted as principal of Summerside High School. But as she settles into the cozy tower room at Windy Poplars, Anne finds she has great allies in the widows Aunt Kate and Aunt Chatty - and in their irrepressible housekeeper, Rebecca Dew. As Anne learns Summerside's strangest secrets, winning the support of the prickly Pringles becomes only the first of her triumphs.

Anne's House of Dreams

Anne's own true love, Gilbert Blythe, is finally a doctor, and in the sunshine of the old orchard, among their dearest friends, they are about to speak their vows. Soon the happy couple will be bound for a new life together and their own dream house, on the misty purple shores of Four Winds Harbour... A new life means new problems to solve, new surprises. Anne and Gilbert will make new friends and neighbors: Captain Jim, the lighthouse attendant, with his sad stories of the sea; Miss Cornelia Bryant, the lady who speaks from the heart - and speaks her mind; and the tragically beautiful Leslie Moore, into whose dark life Anne shines a brilliant light.

Anne of Ingleside
The childhood of Anne's own children growing up together on Prince Edward Island.

Rainbow Valley
Anne Shirley is grown up, has married her beloved Gilbert and now is the mother of six mischievous children. These boys and girls discover a special place all their own, but they never dream of what will happen when the strangest family moves into an old nearby mansion. The Meredith clan is two boys and two girls, with minister father but no mother -- and a runaway girl named Mary Vance. Soon the Meredith kids join Anne's children in their private hideout to carry out their plans to save Mary from the orphanage, to help the lonely minister find happiness, and to keep a pet rooster from the soup pot. There's always an adventure brewing in the sun-dappled world of Rainbow Valley